Discover the Secrets of East Windsor
A family friendly event
THANK YOU TO ALL WHO ATTENDED
There's much to see in East Windsor, come explore fantastic locations at your own pace.
June 9th from 9am to 4pm - rain or shine.
A family event celebrating the cultural diversity of East Windsor with its rich heritage, working farms, beautiful gardens and historic houses.
Tickets can be purchased, for cash on the day at The Solomon Ellsworth House, 312 Rye St, Osborn House at the Museums on the Green, 115 Scantic Rd, E Windsor, Symes Family Farm, 72 Windsorville Rd, Broad Brook and Revay Gardens, 264 North Rd, E Windsor
In collaboration with the Garden Club, the Historic Commission, the Agricultural Commission, the Conservation Commission and the Scantic Church.
Homestead Lifestyle and Sustainable Living
House was built in 1983 by the owners and has active and passive solar, and is earth-bermed. It is designed to be energy efficient. It is partially built from antique and reclaimed building materials.
Small farm with sheep, lambs (meat, wool, blankets), chickens, (eggs).
Organic vegetable garden, composting. Flower beds with pollinator plants.
About 1850 the town of East Windsor organized its schools into twelve districts. The 7th District School in the village of Melrose was built around that time and remained in use as a school until 1938. The Melrose Library was also located here from its founding in the 1930s until it closed in 1950. After that the building, located at 195 Melrose Road, was used by local community groups as a meeting place. In more recent years it was restored by the Melrose School Restoration Committee. The building’s Neoclassical front portico is a later addition that fits in well with the school’s Greek Revival architecture.
An 1850 Greek Revival house with Pedimented main block, recessed kitchen wing and open porch. Broad paneled corner pilasters and matching porch posts. The barn complex erected 1865 after Civil War vigilantes burned the original barns on May 24, 1864.
W.H. Thompson: (1813-1901) was a 4th generation direct descendant of Margaret Thompson who founded Melrose. He was a town Selectman from 1855 to 1861, tax accessor, and state legislator from 1861 to 1862
The Broad Brook Public Library was founded in 1919. Originally housed in the basement of the Broad Brook Congregational Church. In the early 1940s, through the generosity of the Broad Brook Woolen Mill, the Library was relocated at the corner of Church and Main Streets. In 1955, with the help of many donations, the Library Association acquired the current building.
The museums were formed in 1965 in anticipation of the 1968 bicentennial of the incorporation of East Windsor
Our main museum of local history is housed in the East Windsor Academy building. The exhibits and artifacts on display are interesting and varied, reflecting East Windsor’s rich history from Colonial and Revolutionary periods to the present. Along with the main building, there is the Broad Brook Barber Shop, East Windsor Probate Court, and 2 barns (one with a converted apartment). The latest edition, the Osborn House is finished and is now open to the public.
The present church was erected in 1802 and a small parsonage was also erected which later served as a stagecoach tavern. The steeple clock was built in 1810 by George Holbrook of Brookfield, Massachusetts. The clock, still functioning, is powered by two stone weights, one for striking the time, and the other for moving the hands.
Guided tour of the church.
Lunch, coffee and desserts for sale.
Enjoy a horse drawn wagon ride, which will take you around the farm and out to the back field. This is where Jim makes wooden beams and lumber utilizing his sawmill. We board, train and breed horses, there are normally 10-12 horses. There are also numerous types of farm equipment used for growing and harvesting hay, grain and corn. Along your ride or walk you may also find a few chickens, a couple of goats and a donkey named "Dominick".
A horse farm for semi-retired horses, and home of the East Windsor Post and Bounce 4-H horse club. The barn is as old as East Windsor. Come brush a horse and watch the 4-H exercise and care for the horses
Farm, pastoral views, calves, Herefords, goats, chickens and a wagon ride to the flood plains and Scantic river. Hear a short history of Indian life along the Scantic river.
Our farm truly is a family farm, with both kids and adults taking an active part in everything that we grow. We moved to our current location in 2010, we grow over 60 varieties of cut flowers, assorted patio pots, mums., pumpkins, gourds, Christmas trees and eggs. We only sell what we grow ourselves. We also raise 4H cattle for beef and dairy.
Come stroll through the flowers, Christmas trees and view the chickens and cattle.
The 1757 Solomon Ellsworth House has changed little in over 260 years. This early Connecticut valley center chimney, post and beam home has original floor boards, paneling, windows, 2 stair cases, 5 fireplaces and 2 bake ovens. A 2014 addition includes a remarkable kitchen and art studio on the 2nd floor. The master bed room has a full wall of raised chestnut paneling with the original finish.
Flower gardens, vegetables, asparaguses, berries and outdoor sculptures are in full view from almost every window in the house. The garden room, entire house, barn & gardens will be open to guests.
The first dinosaur bones in all of North & South America were found in 1818 while blasting for a well.
Come tour the vegetable gardens and the first floor of this wonderful house.
The garden features citrus trees, fruit, rabbits, chickens and an extensive array of vegetables in a well laid out garden.